Urgent Notice to All Conference Participants

It has been brought to our attention that EHS Housing has recently been cold calling our speakers offering accommodation for a named Fusion conference. Please note that we have no association with EHS Housing and they are acting on our behalf without our permission. We strongly advise that any calls from EHS Housing are ignored or ended immediately. If you are contacted by EHS Housing, please notify us immediately.

All Fusion registration fees are inclusive of accommodation (for three fixed nights) and reservations are handled internally, entirely by Fusion Conferences. If you have any questions concerning your accommodation, please contact Fusion Conferences directly via admin@fusion-conferences.com.

Home > Past Conferences > Molecules and Materials for Artificial Photosynthesis

The registration process for this conference has now closed.

Registration Deadlines

Talk Submission – expired

Early bird – expired

Poster Submission – expired

Last Chance – expired

Molecules and Materials for Artificial Photosynthesis

06 Feb 2014 - 09 Feb 2014

Cancun, Mexico


The replacement of fossil fuels by a clean and renewable energy source is one of the most urgent and challenging issues our society is facing today, which is why intense research is devoted to this topic recently. Nature has been using sunlight as the primary energy input to oxidize water and generate carbohydrates (a solar fuel) for over a billion years. Inspired, but not constrained, by nature, artificial systems can be designed to capture light and oxidize water and reduce protons or other organic compounds to generate useful chemical fuels. Significant progress has been made recently in artificial photosynthesis based on molecular chemistry and material science.  However, developments in these two areas have occurred more independently than what is perhaps desired. In the present meeting, we will bring together researchers in these two scientific communities to explore possible synergistic effects of “fusion” between molecular and materials systems.

The primary topics to be covered in our conference will include:

a)      fundamentals of light capturing and conversion

b)      water oxidation catalysis

c)      proton and CO2 reduction catalysis

d)      interfacing molecules and materials for photosynthesis

e)      complete cells for the generation of solar fuels

Confirmed Plenary Speakers

Professor Thomas Meyer
University of North Carolina

Professor Victor Salvador Batista
Yale University

Professor Joseph Hupp
Northwestern University, Illinois

Confirmed Keynote Speakers

Professor Leone Spiccia
Monash University

Professor Morris Bullock
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Professor Lionel Vayssieres
Xian Jiaotong University

Professor Guozhong Cao
Washington University

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Professor Xuan Zhao
University of Memphis

Professor Martin Albrecht
University College Dublin

Professor Dunwei Wang
Merkert Chemistry Center, Boston College

Dr Elder de la Rosa-Cruz
Centro de Investigaciones en Optica A. C., México

Professor Dongling Ma
University of Quebec

Professor Tim Lian
Emory University

Professor Qingfeng Ge
Southern Illinois University

Professor Yun Hang Hu
Michigan Technological University

Professor Tzarara Lopez-Luke
Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica A.C.

Professor Krishnan Rajeshwar
University of Texas

Professor Jeanne McHale
Washington State University

Professor Yat Li
University of Califoria, Santa Cruz

Professor Samuel Mao
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Professsor Curtis Paul Berlinguette
University of Calgary

Professor Patrick Holland
University of Rochester

Professor Masayuki Yagi
Niigata University

Professor Sascha Ott
Uppsala University

Professor T C Lau
City University of Hong Kong

Professor Timofei Privalov
Stockholm Universit

Professor Siddhartha Das
Utah State University

Professor Alceo Macchioni
Università di Perugia

Professor Marie-Noelle Collomb
Université Joseph Fourier, Grenoble

Professor Vincent Ko
City University of Hong Kong

Dr Junko Yano
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Professor Deli Wang
University of California, San Diego

Professor Yiping Zhao
University of Georgia

Dr Etsuko Fujita
Brookhaven National Laboratory 







Plenary Speakers

Invited Speakers

  • Dr Xuan Zhao
    Assist Prof, University of Memphis
  • Professor Masayuki Yagi
    Professor, Niigata University
  • Professor Jeanne McHale
    Professor, Washington State University
  • Professor Martin Albrecht
    Professor of Chemistry, University College Dublin
  • Prof. Sid Das
    Assistant Professor, Utah State University
  • Dr. Chi-Chiu Ko
    Associate Professor, Department of Biology and Chemistry, City University of Hong Kong
  • Prof. Alceo Macchioni
    Professor of Chemistry, University of Perugia
  • Professor Patrick Holland
    Professor of Chemistry, Yale University
  • Professor Dunwei Wang
    Associate Professor, Boston College
  • Professor Zetian Mi
    Associate Professor, McGill University
  • Dr Dennis Hetterscheid
    Assistant Professor, Leiden University
  • Prof. Dongling Ma
    Prof., Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique (INRS)
  • Dr. Etsuko Fujita
    Senior Chemist, Group Leader, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Director of Research CNRS Marie-Noëlle Collomb
    Research Director at the CNRS, Université Joseph Fourier
  • Prof. Curtis Berlinguette
    Professor, The University of British Columbia
  • Dr Sascha Ott
    Assoc. Prof., Uppsala University
  • Professor Tai-Chu Lau
    Professor, City University of Hong Kong
  • Dr. Junko Yano
    Staff Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Associate Professor Tanja Cuk
    Associate Professor, Chemistry Department, CU Boulder
  • Dr Elder De la Rosa
    Dr, Centro de Investigaciones en Optica
  • Professor Tianquan Lian
    Professor, Emory University
  • Dr. Yat Li
    Associate Professor, University of California, Santa Cruz
  • Dr Tzarara Lopez-Luke
    CIO, Centro de investigaciones en Optica AC
  • Prof. Dr. Greta Ricarda Patzke
    Inorganic Chemistry, University of Zurich
  • Professor Qingfeng Ge
    Professor, Southern Illinois University
  • Professor Yun Hang Hu
    Charles and Carroll McArthur Endowed Chair Professor, Michigan Technological Univertsity
  • Prof. Deli Wang
    Associate Professor, University of California San Diego
  • Professor Oleg Prezhdo
    Professor, University of Rochester
  • Professor Justine Roth
    Professor, Johns Hopkins University
  • Prof. Douglas Grotjahn
    Professor, San Diego State University
  • Dr. Marten Ahlquist
    Associate Professor, KTH Royal Institute of Technology
  • Dr. Wilson Smith
    Assistant Professor, Delft University of Technology
  • Professor Ken Sakai
    Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Sciences, Kyushu University


Sign In

Your feedback has been received.

Cant see images? See gallery on Flickr